22 New Cars Ranked Top Safety Pick Plus By IIHS

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has made the requirements for its Top Safety Pick Plus award more stringent for 2014, awarding it to just 22 vehicles.

To qualify for the Top Safety Pick Plus award a vehicle needs to get the highest rating of “good” in the moderate overlap frontal, side impact, roof strength and rear crash tests, must earn a score of “good” or acceptable in the small overlap frontal crash test which imitates an impact with a tree or light pole at 40 mph, and must include front crash protection technology that will either warn a driver of an impending crash or automatically apply the brakes.

Of the 22 cars that qualified for the Top Safety Pick Plus award, Honda (along with Acura) had the most with five. Mazda, Subaru and Volvo each had three vehicles that earned Top Safety Pick Plus honors.

2014 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus Winners:


2014 Acura MDX

2014 Acura RLX


2014 Ford Fusion


2014 Honda Accord (coupe and sedan)

2014 Honda Civic Hybrid

2014 Honda Odyssey


2014 Infiniti Q50


2014 Lincoln MKZ


2014 Mazda3 (built after October 2013)

2014 Mazda6

2014 Mazda CX-5 (built after October 2013


2014 Mercedes-Benz M-Class (built after August 2013)


2014 Mitsubishi Outlander


2014 Subaru Forester

2014 Subaru Legacy

2014 Subaru Outback


2014 Toyota Highlander

2014 Toyota Prius (built after November 2013)


2014 Volvo S60

2014 Volvo S80

2014 Volvo XC60


Source: Kicking Tires.

Image via Kicking Tires.